Calgary stampede – Chuck wagon race

As I mentioned in my last post, I had a chance to visit backstage of Calgary Stampede. I could see chuck wagon race at close range and I tried to capture the powerful horses running hard and working together.

My camera gear was my everyday set, a rangefinder camera and I used 135mm and 90mm this time…No auto-focus nor huge 300mm 2.8 lens.  Elamrit 135mm is quite sharp even though the lens was designed 35 years ago. I often think what the evolution of camera technology for these 20 years is. I started shooting with shutter-speed fairly first, 1/250 sec.

Chuck wagon race 2012 -1 by Hiroaki  Kobayashi (Hiro-K) on 500px.com
Chuck wagon race 2012 -1 by Hiroaki Kobayashi

I do not shoot sports photography so I thought this was a good opportunity to practice panning. It was pretty difficult to get idea how first I should move my camera to follow the horses running first. I tried the shutter-speed 1/15.

Chuck wagon race 2012 -3 by Hiroaki  Kobayashi (Hiro-K) on 500px.com
Chuck wagon race 2012 -3 by Hiroaki Kobayashi

Chuck wagon race 2012 -4 by Hiroaki  Kobayashi (Hiro-K) on 500px.com
Chuck wagon race 2012 -4 by Hiroaki Kobayashi

The impression of the image is completely different from the first one. I got some ethereal images with 1/15. But it was a little too blur so I tried 1/30 and changed lens to 90mm. I think this image is dynamic enough and not too artistic as the 2nd one.

Chuck wagon race 2012 -5 by Hiroaki  Kobayashi (Hiro-K) on 500px.com
Chuck wagon race 2012 -5 by Hiroaki Kobayashi

Please click the images for larger sizes.

7 thoughts on “Calgary stampede – Chuck wagon race

  1. Pingback: Calgary Stampede – Chuckwagon race 2013 | Hiroaki Kobayashi's Blog

  2. Pingback: チャックワゴン レース in カルガリー スタンピード | 風景写真 from カナダ

Leave a Reply

