Stampede Wstern Gallery Show (2) – Stay on trails

This photo was taken in Lake O’Hara, British Columbiain in early September in 2010. I was walking on a trail and I found a beautiful green moss shinning in the morning sun light in a creek. However, I was with some friends heading to a location for the day. So I decided to come back in the evening. Unfortunately, the day turned to cloudy and we had a shower at the evening. But when I came back to the location I found in the morning, the sky was clearing up. I had still time before sunset.

But here was a problem. The creek was running about 3m below the trail. If I had taken Ninja action, I would’ve been able to go down to the creek. Well…now, I’ve got to tell myself…”No, I can not do this. It is not acceptable”. “Staying on trails”, that was clearly stated by a park ranger. It takes long time to recover once natural habitants are damaged. Photographers tend to bend the rule to get unique shots. But it may result in struggling own neck in long run.

Anyway, I kept walking and I came to cross the creek. Then there was a pass along by the creek. Lucky! I can reach to the green moss without stepping over natural vegetation.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Ultra wide Heliar 12mm/f5.6, my fun lens. Lee 0.9 ND filter. This is HDR image. I used PS to develop the HDR image but the outcome was not satisfactory. Then I tried Photometix, and I am quite happy with the result.

4 thoughts on “Stampede Wstern Gallery Show (2) – Stay on trails

  1. Sarah Fischler

    Hi Hiro – I believe I saw this on the back of your LCD the day you took this. Either way, this turned out really nicely. I like the composition and the log is a great leading line. The low cloud in the background adds just the right mood to this image. Beautiful.

    Reply
    1. Hiro Post author

      Thanks, Sarah. Actually, this was taken on my Lake O’Hara trip about 3 week before I met you in Lake O’Hara. I really liked this scene so I tried again on my next trip. That was the one I showed to you. On the 2nd trip, it was sunny and blue sky. I found images taken on the 1st images seemed to have more moods. That is why I choose this image. I like the low cloud, too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

