Don’t freeze your camera

On TV, internet, newspaper and everywhere, you see shocking images about Japan since last Friday. I can not describe how I am feeling now but I am feeling depressed even though I am living in one of the safest centuries. But only I can do is do good job for my everyday work and take good photos as much as I can.

So I have not posted landscape photography for quite while. I took this picture about one month ago at Vermilion Lake in Banff, Alberta. If you google vermilion lake and Mt. Rundle, you will find thousands of the similar images. So I have avoided taking pictures there. But it is winter…I may be able to capture some unique images. I arrived at the location around 06:30 in the morning. Vermilion lake has some unfrozen spots due to hot-spring even in a frozen winter. I walked to an steaming unfrozen spot. And Voila! I found footsteps of deer or something leading toward Mt. Rundle. I set up camera and waited sunrise.

However, it did not go perfectly. It was about -20 degree, and when the sun came out on Mt. Rundle, my camera stopped working because it was frozen. I missed the most dramatic moment.

Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug
This image is one of the tests shot before the sunrise but I think it is pretty successful. You can see rays of sun light from the top of the mountain. This is high dynamic range image.

One thought on “Don’t freeze your camera

  1. GL

    The news from Japan is heart breaking. Hope your loved ones are safe. Thanks for the photo. It might not be exactly what you wanted to capture, but it is quite nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

