The photo stuck in my head – Nature of the photographer

Yesterday, I wrote about photography and paintings, and I mentioned about difficulty to bring up emotions to art form from artists’ own souls.      

I have one photo which gave me extremely strong impact. It is one of Annie Leibovitz’s photos. She is famous for her celebrity photographies. If I am correct, she is the last photographer who had a photo session with John Lennon before only hours of his death. Also she captured the moment John was signing his autography to Mark Chapman.    

The photo was the death of Annie Leibovits’s partner, published in her book “Photographer’s life”. After publishing this photos, she was criticized from points of view of moral, ethics and, at the first place, publishing death photography.

I found this photo while I was killing time in Chapters book store, and since then this photo stuck somewhere in my head. I did not know about Annie Leibovits at that time, though. I was quite shocked by her nature as a photographer. Can you imagine she still pointed a camera to her closest person at the moment of her death?  Further more, she completed the image as an art form. The image is obviously not a snap shot. It must be unbelievablly hard thing to do, mustn’t it?

Yes, photography is reflection of external subjects. But at the same reflaction of the photographers, themselves. Sometimes , it requires a painful journey to unconsciousness part. I believe art is supposed to be. Well …I do not have to worry about this question…because I am so far from this level:-(

Related Post: Consideration of differences b/w paintings and photography – influenced by Katie Selbee’s gallery show

5 thoughts on “The photo stuck in my head – Nature of the photographer

  1. RGG

    Dear Hiro, I was very pleased to see your comments on Annie L.

    Years ago Annie L took pictures of the Blues Brothers (Jake and Elwood) when we first went to LA to appear before an audience at the Universal Amphitheatre…she rented a dingy hotel room (like the ones poor musicians would stay in) and we spent the day there taking photos…the resulting effort made it to the cover of Rolling Stone .. everyone was shocked about the Blue faces…Jake and Elwood liked it!!

    Reply
  2. Hiro Post author

    She does not shoot straight forward celebrity photos, does she? I am amazed by her signature tones of color. And also, I am always amazed by you. You have many quite intreesting experiences.

    Reply
  3. Samantha

    Hey Hiro,
    The one thing I can say is a good take away from being a lawyer was you rarely have the full set of facts when you make your judgment. What we hear from the media and self-appointed social critics is rarely enough for us to make up our own mind. Who knows what was going on in Leibovitz’s mind when she memorialized her partner in such a deliberate way? Without knowing her, I cannot pass judgment on her actions. I can only interface with her art.

    Reply
    1. Hiro Post author

      Hi, Sam. Thank you for your comment and I enjoy reading your deep thoughts in your blog.

      Yes, I agree. Some time imagination runs too far, and a lot of times, it can be Truth is stranger than fiction. But It makes me emotional when I imagine peculiar ways to artists, in general, to deal with their pain by embodying in their works.

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Gallery show by Norman Geppert | Hiroaki Kobayashi's Blog

Leave a Reply

